More Art :)

Marvel’s most ridiculous looking villain, Modok!

Done on A4, in pen and promarker

modokart

I chose Modok to draw today, because he’s… well, look at him! He follows no preconceived notions of anatomy, more of a cartoon character. That’s the funny thing about drawing. I’d always had this idea in my head when I was younger that I wanted to be a comic book artist, but I lack the skills and discipline to draw anything properly (I have cartoonist / artist friends that draw 16 hours a day, ffs!). I used to hope one day I’d end up drawing for the likes of 2000ad, and it actually pains me slightly that friends of mine from way back when are now drawing AND writing for said publication, as well as other esteemed comic publishers.

I also stopped drawing from the age of about 23 – 33 while I went off on the piss. That didn’t help. I’ve no real knowledge of anatomy, or how shadow hits a figure realistically. I can always see the flaws in anything I do, after I’ve done it (Hands are a bastard to draw). I suppose that’s why I regard myself as a cartoonist. More by default. Cartooning is more like ‘cheating’, as an art form. Don’t get me wrong, you still need to know about ‘lines of action’, and perspective, but for the most part, you don’t even have to be able to draw that well. Even drawing structures I find hard. I’ve always wanted to do castles and spaceships, but just can’t see the basic shapes they’re made up of. Again, with cartooning, you can get away with just showing a section of something, to convey the image.

I suppose, at the end of the day, I never wanted it enough, my interests spread out over several areas of the arts, I’ve never really mastered anything specific. So now I just like to do what I enjoy, and see what comes out. I’d never try and pass myself off as professional in any field. Maybe one day 🙂

Robbie

About robbonham

Doctor Who fan
This entry was posted in Art, Comic books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

